Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Contact the Clerk of Court
Show All Answers
Certified copies will be issued to:
Identification is required from all who request a certified vital record. Uncertified copies of all vital records are open to public inspection.
Payment of recording fees, tax parcel ID number, payment of the real estate excise tax (for deeds), name of draftsman (for deeds), grantee (buyer) address, and acknowledgment (notarization). Any documents conveying property require tax certification from the county tax office effective March 1, 2019. Statute GS: 161-31 Tax Office number 336-242-2160.
Almost all instruments presented for recordation first must be acknowledged (notarized) before the Register of Deeds can record the instrument. Notary Publics are authorized by North Carolina law to perform this duty.
North Carolina law allows you to prepare a Deed of Conveyance for any real property to which you have legal title. However, the conveyance of real property is a legal matter that should be given under and with the advise of legal counsel.
Yes. However, one should consult an attorney-at-law before doing so.
No. Instruments presented for recordation can be made by anyone. The person who presents the instrument can be a party to the instrument, but it is not required by law.
Yes. Basically, all documents recorded are public records that are protected by the public records law. However, you first must provide the necessary fees for such before obtaining any copies.
The Register of Deeds is authorized by law to certify a true copy of any instrument that has been recorded in the public registry. However, the necessary fee for such first must be paid by such person requesting said instrument.
Real estate excise tax, also known as revenue stamps, is imposed by North Carolina law, and collected by the Register of Deeds at the time of recording. The tax is levied on conveyances of an interest in real estate by all persons and organizations except federal, state, county, and municipal governments and their instrumentalities. The transferor (grantor, seller) buys the tax stamp from the Register of Deeds of the county in which the land that is being sold lies. The rate of tax is $1 on each $500, or fractional part thereof, on the consideration or value of the interest or property conveyed.
It is a misdemeanor for any transferor or his agent to willfully and knowingly fail to pay the correct amount of the tax, or for anyone to aid, abet, or direct any other persons to fail to pay.
Yes. The following are some of the other instruments recorded in the Register of Deeds.
Yes. However, the necessary fee first must be paid before this service can be provided (copy fee).
Certified Birth, Death, or Marriage: $10.00Uncertified via mail Must send self-addressed, stamped envelope for returning request; : $1.00Uncertified in person: $.0.25 Marriage License: $60.00; $10 additional for certified copy
No. Adoption records are not available at the Davidson County Register of Deeds office. You can further assistance by contacting NC Vital Records.NC Vital Records1903 Mail Service CenterRaleigh, NC 27699
Born inside the United States: Birth certificates are maintained by each state for the people who are born in that state. Contact the county or state vital records in the state where you were born to get a copy of your birth certificate. There is a Web site that can help you find out where you should write for vital records across the United States. Born outside the United States: If you were born outside the United States and your parents were United States citizens at the time of your birth, you can write to--US Department of StateWashington Passport Agency1111 - 19th Street NW, Suite 300Washington, DC 20522-1705
Contact the Special Proceeding Division of Clerk of Court
A state or federal issued photo ID (example, driver's license or passport).
First, the license must be purchased in North Carolina. The license is valid in any county in the State of North Carolina, but must be returned to the county in which it was issued. The license is valid for sixty (60) days. A religious officiate or a magistrate may perform the ceremony.
The Register of Deeds office does not provide legal advise; it is advisable to see an attorney. A separation agreement may be filed in our office once the document is complete and properly notarized.
Complete application for vital record and:Return the signed application, along with $10 fee, a copy of your picture ID and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:
Davidson County Register of DeedsPO Box 464Lexington, NC 27293You may obtain information on obtaining a certified copy of a vital record from the Vital Records Divisionat the State Center for Health Statistics web site:http://vitalrecords.dhhs.state.nc.us/vr/requests/